A Guide to the Cover Design Process for Your Book


Words matter. But, so do visuals. To build interest in your upcoming book, you need a book cover that speaks volumes and stands on its own against competing publications.

In this 90-minute webinar with Lyndsey Ellis and Jade Burel you will learn the ins and outs of the cover design process — from brainstorming images to finding the right visual artist — and transform your book from a hit-or-miss into an immediate attention-grabber.

Thursday | May 13, 2021 | $25
4pm PT | 5pm MT | 6pm CT | 7pm ET



St. Louis-born and Bay Area trained, LYNDSEY ELLIS, is a fiction writer, essayist, and editor who is passionate about Black intergenerational relationships and resiliency in the Midwest.

She was the recipient of the San Francisco Foundation’s Joseph Jackson Literary Award in 2016 and the Barbara Deming Memorial Fund in 2018 for the completion of her novel, BONE BROTH, forthcoming from Hidden Timber Books June 1, 2021.

JADE BUREL has always had a creative eye, even as a kid. She was the little black girl who was very shy/quiet and nerdy, who kept to herself and always did what she was told. The full good girl archetype. Books and drawing were her safe haven.

She is influenced by spirituality, love, kindness. She is passionate about bringing awareness to womanism and is inspired by black activism and black culture/black beauty/black history/black people. Her art is a reflection of what’s happening in the world, a reflection of change, making beautiful visuals that beautifully affect herself and the audience in a positive way.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close