Small Press Author Reading Series

In light of so many cancelled book tours as of late, Hidden Timber Books is hosting other small press authors via Zoom for readings. These events are FREE, all you need to do is register for the link to join. Attend one, attend them all, and spread the word! *Please make note of time zones listed.

(If you need accommodations for the reading, please contact us several days prior to the event. We’ll do our best to make it accessible.)

To view our past Small Press Author Readings, visit our YouTube Channel!


THE FRIDAY FRAMEWORK
Hosted by F. Douglas Brown

With Poets T’ai Freedom Ford, Angela Peñaredondo, and Luivette Resto

Friday | December 4, 2020
5:30pm Pacific | 6:30pm Mountain | 7:30pm Central | 8:30pm Eastern

Details and link to register for this event can be found HERE.


Stacie Sheldon and Margaret Noodin
BEBIKAAN-EZHIWEBIZIWINAN NIMKII: The Adventures of Nimkii (Waub Ajijaak Press)

The story of a modern dog who lives an adventurous life through all four seasons. The book provides a basic introduction to most of the things that make Ojibwe unique in an interactive format and is fully bilingual, translated by Margaret Noodin and designed by Cecelia LaPointe.

A collaborative project, the story of Nimkii is published by an Anishinaabe owned press, written by Anishinaabe women, & illustrated by a Haudenosaunee artist.

Saturday | December 12, 2020
12pm Pacific | 1pm Mountain | 2pm Central | 3pm Eastern

Chitwaadewegekwe nindizhinikaaz Anishinaabemong. Ajijaak doodem. Cheboygan, Michigan ndoonjibaa. Honor Beat Woman is my name in Anishinaabemowin. I am Crane Clan. I am originally from Cheboygan, Michigan. 

Stacie has a career as a User Experience Researcher and Strategist. Beyond that, she is a co-founder and leads the technical development of www.ojibwe.net. She also serves on the Board of Directors for American Indian Services in Lincoln Park, Michigan. Stacie is a member of Miskwaasining Nagamojig (the Swamp Singers), a women’s hand drum group whose lyrics are all in Anishinaabemowin (Ojibwe).

Margaret Noodin has a PhD in Literature and Linguistics, an MFA in Creative Writing and is Assistant Professor of English and American Indian Studies at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. A contributor on Ojibwa.net (a website dedicated to saving the language), she is also the author of Bawaajimo: a Dialect of Dreams in Anishinaabe Language and Literature. 


Karin Cecile Davidson
SYBELIA DRIVE (Braddock Avenue Books)

In the small lake town where LuLu, Rainey, and Saul are growing up, day-to-day life is anything but easy. Navigating the usual obstacles of youth would be enough for anyone, but for this trio a world marred by the Vietnam War, detached parents, and untimely death create circumstances overloaded with trouble. Yet through their unyielding resourcefulness and the willingness to expose their vulnerabilities, these three friends discover deeper bonds than even they could ever imagine.

Sunday | December 20, 2020
12pm Pacific | 1pm Mountain | 2pm Central | 3pm Eastern

KARIN CECILE DAVIDSON is originally from the Gulf Coast. Her stories have appeared in Story MagazineThe Massachusetts ReviewFive PointsColorado ReviewThe Los Angeles ReviewPassages North, and elsewhere. Her awards include a 2018 Ohio Arts Council Residency at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, a 2018 Atlantic Center for the Arts Residency, and more.

Her fiction has been nominated for Pushcart and Best of the Net, as well as shortlisted for the Glimmer Train Short Story Award for New Writers, the Nelligan Prize, the Red Hen Press Women’s Prose Prize, and the Faulkner-Wisdom Writing Competition, among others.  


Check back here often for more ONLINE Author Readings.
Better yet, SUBSCRIBE to our newsletter!

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close